SHA-256

The SHA-256 is a hash algorithm (Secure Hash Algorithm) that converts data into a hash with a length of 256 bits.

Hash algorithms are used in Blockchain technology to represent the blocks and to protect the Blockchain from manipulation. If only a small amount of the information changes, the entire hash changes. A hash function has the property that it is easy to calculate in one direction but can only be solved backwards by generating random number combinations [1].

The SHA-256 is used for example with Bitcoin. The actual hash is 256 bits long and is usually displayed in 64 characters in hexadecimal form. In the Bitcoin example, if a hash value is to be created for a new block, the bundled information about the transactions is first converted into a hash using a secure hash algorithm. This is the Merkle Root. The Merkle Root is encrypted together with the hash of the previous block and the nonce to the hash value of the block header.

Since the nonce is unknown, SHA-256 fulfills also another function. In order that the miner can create the block, he has to solve the proof of work mechanism. This is a competition between the miners to find out the nonce. Whoever finds out a valid nonce first can create the block [2].

[1] Heines, R. (2017): Blockchain Technology Applications: A Conceptual Framework from a Supply Chain Perspective

[2] Antonopoulos,A. (2015): Mastering Bitcoin Unlocking Digital Cryptocurrencies

Begriff im Definitionsnetz

Begriff im Definitionsnetz

Contact

  • LinkedIn - Weiß, Kreis,
  • Twitter - Weiß, Kreis,
  • Facebook - Weiß, Kreis,
© 2020 by Business Engineering Institute St.Gallen
Wlogo.png

SHA-256

Der SHA-256 ist ein Hash Algorithmus (Secure Hash Algorithm), der Daten in einen Hash mit einer Länge von 256 Bits umwandelt.

Hash Algorithmen werden in der Blockchain-Technologie als Darstellung für die Blöcke verwendet und, um die Blockchain vor Manipulationen zu schützen. Ändert sich nämlich nur eine Kleinigkeit der zu verschlüsselten Informationen, ändert sich der komplette Hashwert. Eine Hashfunktion hat die Eigenschaft, dass sie in eine Richtung leicht zu rechnen ist, jedoch rückwärts nur durch Ausprobieren der Möglichkeiten gelöst werden kann [1].

Der SHA-256 wird zum Beispiel bei Bitcoin verwendet. Der eigentliche Hash ist hierbei 256 Bits lang und wird jedoch meistens in 64 Zeichen in Hexadezimalform angezeigt. Wenn im Beispiel Bitcoin ein Hashwert für einen neuen Block erstellt werden soll, werden zuerst die gebündelten Informationen über die Transaktionen mit einem Secure Hash Algorithm zu einem Hash verschlüsselt. Dieser ist dann der Merkle Root. Der Merkle Root wird mit dem Hash des vorherigen Blockes und dem Nonce zusammen durch den Algorithmus zu dem Hashwert des Blockheaders verschlüsselt.

Da der Nonce aber unbekannt ist, erfüllt der SHA-256 noch eine weitere Funktion, den Proof-of-Work Mechanismus. Damit der Miner den Block erstellen kann muss er zuerst den Nonce herausfinden. So ist dies ein Wettbewerb zwischen den Minern. Wer zuerst den Nonce herausfindet, kann den Block erstellen [2].

[1] Heines, R. (2017): Blockchain Technology Applications: A Conceptual Framework from a Supply Chain Perspective

[2] Antonopoulos,A. (2015): Mastering Bitcoin Unlocking Digital Cryptocurrencies

Begriff im Definitionsnetz

Begriff im Definitionsnetz

Kontakt

  • LinkedIn - Weiß, Kreis,
  • Twitter - Weiß, Kreis,
  • Facebook - Weiß, Kreis,
© 2020 by Business Engineering Institute St.Gallen
Wlogo.png