Hashgraph

Hashgraph is a data structure, which is an alternative to the Blockchain. It avoids the energy-intensive proof of work mechanism and the limited scalability of the proof of stake mechanism by using a different consensus. Therefore, platforms is based on an entirely new data structure, the so called Hashgraph. It offers various possibilities for different applications, such as cryptocurrency, smart contracts and secure data management or storage.

A Hashgraph network is based on the Directed Acyclic Graph technology [1]. Furthermore, Hashgraph uses a voting algorithm combined with a gossip protocol to achieve consensus. The consensus mechanism allows a faster replication of the information than Blockchain [2]. Users can conduct new transactions at any time by creating an "event". This event is sent to a randomly selected user, resulting in an exponential distribution [2].

An event stores, in addition to the time and information about the transaction, the hash of the previous event of the event-receiving user and the event-sending user for each participant. This creates a connection that ensures that no manipulation of the information is possible [2].

[1] Gräbe, F. (2020): Do Not Be Fooled: Toward a Holistic Comparison of Distributed Ledger Technology Designs.

[2] El Ioini, N. (2018): A Review of Distributed Ledger Technologies.

Begriff im Definitionsnetz

Begriff im Definitionsnetz

Contact

  • LinkedIn - Weiß, Kreis,
  • Twitter - Weiß, Kreis,
  • Facebook - Weiß, Kreis,
© 2020 by Business Engineering Institute St.Gallen
Wlogo.png

Hashgraph

Hashgraph ist eine Datenstruktur, welche eine Alternative zur Blockchain darstellt. Sie vermeidet durch einem anderen Konsensmechanismus, den energieintensiven Proof-of-Work Mechanismus und die begrenze Skalierbarkeit wie bei dem Proof-of-Stake-Mechanismus. Daher bieten Plattformen auf Basis der Hashgraph Struktur vielfältige Möglichkeiten für verschiedene Anwendungen, wie Cryptocurrency, Smart Contracts und eine sichere Datenverwaltung und –speicherung.

Es handelt sich hierbei um ein Netzwerk, das aber im Vergleich zu den Wettbewerbern nicht auf der Blockchaintechnologie sondern auf der Directed Acyclic Graph Technologie basiert [1]. Ausserdem beruht Hashgraph auf einem Abstimmungs-Algortithmus, kombiniert mit einem Gossip-Protokoll um den Consensus zu erreichen. Der eigne Consensus Mechanismus ermöglicht eine schnellere Replikation der Informationen, als Blockchain [2]. Nutzer können jederzeit neue Transaktionen durchführen und damit ein «Event» erstellen. Dieses Event wird dann an einen zufällig gewählten Nutzer immer weiter geschickt, sodass eine exponentielle Verteilung entsteht [2].

Auf einem Event werden neben dem Zeitpunkt und der Information über die Transaktion auch jeweils pro Nutzer der Hash des vorherigen Events des Event-empfangenden Nutzers und der Hash des vorherigen Events des Event-sendenden Nutzers gespeichert. Dadurch entsteht eine Verflechtung, die sicherstellt, dass keine Manipulation der Informationen möglich ist [2].

[1] Gräbe, F. (2020): Do Not Be Fooled: Toward a Holistic Comparison of Distributed Ledger Technology Designs.

[2] El Ioini, N. (2018): A Review of Distributed Ledger Technologies.

Begriff im Definitionsnetz

Begriff im Definitionsnetz

Kontakt

  • LinkedIn - Weiß, Kreis,
  • Twitter - Weiß, Kreis,
  • Facebook - Weiß, Kreis,
© 2020 by Business Engineering Institute St.Gallen
Wlogo.png